top of page

She's alive!!!

Contrary to appearance... I have not been abducted by aliens or gone off to pursue a career as a reclusive writer. In fact, I have been meaning to write this post for many months now, but I have been embarrassed about letting this little passion project of mine lapse over the last year. In my defense, I have been preparing for my CPA, rekindling my soccer career, and realizing I have no future in kickball. Lucikly for all of you, none of these things have kept me from reading. Soon I will be back with a full review. It seems that the second installment of the Broken Earth series by N.K. Jemsin would only be appropriate for my return.

A little taste of my favorites since December:

The Imperial Radch series by Ann Leckie: These are very, very good. They have a little bit of everything: a genderless society, an AI in a human body, political intrigue, aliens, and Leckie writes with skill.

The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern: This book has been out for quite awhile, but I just recently got around to it, and let me say, it lived up to the hype. The story itself is beautiful and Morgenstern brings both her characters and her settings to life.

Lock In and Redshirts, John Scalzi: Scalzi is so much fun. Redshirts is a must read for anyone who has feelings about Star Trek. (Pro tip: Wil Wheaton narrates the audiobooks for both of these)

Midnight Texas series, Charlaine Harris: This may not be the most well written stories, but Harris really knows how to make small town supernatural fun and not so absurd. I believe it is being made into a television show as well.

Mercy Thompson series, Patricia Briggs: I put off reading this series for many years, but when I started studying, I knew I needed something fun. What could be more fun than a sassy Volkswagon mechanic who turns into a Coyote and takes no crap from anyone?

The Last Policeman series, Ben H. Winters: This detective series brings a new aspect to a sometimes tired genre. There is an asteroid that will hit earth in a known amount of time, and unsurprisingly, Detective Palace is one of the only cops who is still doing his job. I enjoyed all three of these, and am looking forward to reading Winters in the future.

Book Haven archives

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page