top of page

Summer 2015 picks... so far

The Library at Mount Char Scott Hawkins

The Library at Mount Char packs a twisted punch. Not for the easily offended or anyone under the age of 18, Hawkins presents a group of young gods in training under the sadistic eye of their "father." One of the trainees, Carolyn, seeks the help of an war vet to find her "father," so that she and her siblings can navigate their complicated world again. Hawkins has a knack for catchy dialogue and twists which you won't see coming. It might be wrong to call such a twisted book fun, but it is just that.

The Lunar Chronicles Marissa Mayer

Generally, I do not care for YA novels, even the dystopian ones. The buzz surrounding the series finally convinced me to give them a try and was hooked. Mayer has a refined writing style which made me forget I was reading a book written for young adults and let me focus on the story, which is fantastic. Don't let the familiarity of fairy tales scare you away. While there are retellings technically, Mayer has succesfully made them all her own, for which I could not be more grateful. The final series in the installment, Winter, is to be published in early November 2015.

I am also reading The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin. I am preemptively placing in on the best of summer 2015 list. Look for a review soon.

Book Haven archives

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page